Lake Lucerne is a complex-shaped waterway comprising various arms and inlets. In the centre of the Weggis basin is located the "Kreuztrichter" area where the four main arms of the lake converge – the Vitzau basin (from between Hertenstein and the Bürgenstock to the middle of the lake); the Stans arm with the Horw bay and Alpnachersee; the Luzernersee; and finally the Küssnachtersee (from Merlischachen) to Küssnacht am Rigi).