Haus zur Treib

Located between Lake Uri and the Gersau Basin, the historic Haus zur Treib was first documented in 1482. This is where representatives of the original cantons of the old Swiss Confederation convened for their meetings. It was also later used as a place of shelter for survivors of shipwrecks. The wooden building was destroyed by fire in 1685, and was not fully restored until 1902. Today the Haus zur Treib is a protected buildiung and a popular restaurant, accessible by boat, aerial cableway or the narrow road from Seelisberg.